Doing hard things in hard times isn’t futile. It’s the key to resilience.

When the pain is bad, it makes me feel bad about myself. I wind up concentrating on what I can’t do. I feel frail and worry that I’m not contributing. And considering I’ve gone into some fairly deep emotional valleys, I also worry that I’m more toxic sometimes than I want to be.

Most mornings I wake up somewhere between 4 and 4:30. When I’m running, that’s useful. Much of the year, you don’t want to run in Florida after the sun comes up. Since the beginning of the year, I’ve exercised in some way every day. On tough mornings, it’s stretching. Considering you don’t become more flexible with age, stretching is actually good for me. I’ve written a blog post every day since the beginning of the year. I write in two journals. I do Bible devotionals every day. And I’ve lost around 20 pounds since Christmas (maybe more). I’m in revisions on two novels that are the best things I’ve written.

All of that stuff can be pain in the ass to do. Some days, I do it just to keep the streak alive. If I miss a day, it’s easier to miss a second day, then a third day. Then everything goes to hell.

Those things are important. They’re daily proof that I can do useful things. Although I’m not running six or seven miles a day, I’m improving my body. The rest of the stuff’s important, too. When I struggling, it’s proof that I am doing valuable things. I’m not getting lapped by the rest of the world.

Yesterday, I wrote on Twitter that I’m a better person because of the Fibro. I have more empathy for other people’s burdens. And I’m still getting better. This morning’s Daily Stoic journal entry was about how we’re all learning. When someone spars with me and hits me too hard or takes a cheap shot, it’s all practice and they’re learning, too.

I never considered that mindset. Looking at things that way makes it a lot easier to forgive seventy times seven times (or more). If I can put aside my ego, I’ll be able to see that better.

If not for the Fibro, I’d have never considered stoicism. I’d have never seen that journal entry. I’d have missed a wonderful opportunity to become a better person.

It’s hard work when life wears you down. As with everything, we get to choose how we respond. That’s the most important super power in the world.

The work I’ve been doing–the stuff that feels like a burden some mornings–makes it easier for me to respond in a useful way.

Published by

Chris Hamilton

Chris Hamilton is a writer trying to make the next step, to go from pretty good to freaking outstanding. He's devoting himself to doing the work and immersing himself in writery pursuit. He also hasn't quite mastered this whole Powerball thing, and still has a pesky addiction to food, clothing, and shelter, so he has to work, too. Blech.

Leave a comment