Your best effort is better than no effort at all

I really wanted to get a good strong run in this morning, but my body wasn’t having it. I wound up walking a lot more than I’d hoped for. In the old days, I’ve have called it the walk of shame and cursed myself for not finishing the job I set out to do.

Because of the Fibro, I have to listen to my body. When it says stop, I can test it a little. If it keeps saying stop, I need to listen. I didn’t listen one afternoon last August. I still haven’t recovered.

Today, that’s what my body allowed me. It was still my decision to get out and do the work. And I did. I was outside before 4:30 and I finished well before six. That’s not a losing effort. That’s not disappointment.

Though I didn’t get what I wanted, my only alternative was to skip exercise this morning. That wasn’t going to happen. My best effort is better than no effort at all.

If I keep running and my body allows it, I’ll get to the point of running long again someday. It’s okay if I don’t, though. The goal is to be active, not to set personal records for speed and distance. If that happens, so much the better. But it’s silly to throw shade on myself for something I can’t control.

I’m happy to do what my situation allows me to do. I’m grateful for the ability and drive. Nothing is gained by concentrating on what I can’t do.

Published by

Chris Hamilton

Chris Hamilton is a writer trying to make the next step, to go from pretty good to freaking outstanding. He's devoting himself to doing the work and immersing himself in writery pursuit. He also hasn't quite mastered this whole Powerball thing, and still has a pesky addiction to food, clothing, and shelter, so he has to work, too. Blech.

Leave a comment