When it’s hard, remember your purpose

The Fibro’s been asserting itself lately, as often happens after a busy time. There’s been pain, fatigue, and a surprising amount of brain fog. I completely missed the ball on a work-related thing yesterday that I’d have normally caught. Writing yesterday’s blog post was amazingly difficult.

And the frustration’s been mounting. The impacts are accumulating and it’s gotten in my head. I’m starting to doubt myself.

When you struggle with something, people watch. You can let the struggle turn you bitter and brittle, which means they’ll watch from afar and eventually turn away. You can wallow in your situation–it’s something all of us do from time to time. That’ll get you sympathy, which is sometimes just the salve you need to pick up and move forward.

Or you can continue forward, trying your best to weather the storm with grace and dignity. This is the hardest path, but the most valuable.

All of us can point to someone who went through hell and inspired us with their example. If nothing else, maybe that’s the purpose in today’s struggle. Maybe there’s one action, one saying, one thing that you do that’ll stay with someone else.

If I have to go through this–and it appears I do–then I want something in return. I want to be greedy about the experience. I won’t get anything if I take my ball and go home.

So whatever the day brings, I need to face it with the cards I’ve been dealt. I have the opportunity to work on being more creative to find solutions. I can work on my resilience. I can be the guy who offers a smile and a helpful word in spite of–or maybe because of it all.

Barring God deciding to call me up to the big leagues, no matter what happens today, evening will come. My head will hit the pillow. I will rest.

The real question is what I’ll contribute before that.

Published by

Chris Hamilton

Chris Hamilton is a writer trying to make the next step, to go from pretty good to freaking outstanding. He's devoting himself to doing the work and immersing himself in writery pursuit. He also hasn't quite mastered this whole Powerball thing, and still has a pesky addiction to food, clothing, and shelter, so he has to work, too. Blech.

Leave a comment