The importance of anticipating joy

My mind has an active imagination. Outside working through plot points in my fiction writing and finding creative ways to solve problems at work, that’s not the best thing.

Yesterday was a flight day from LA to Tampa. It was a direct flight, which meant no layovers or increased chances for delays. I had a seat in economy plus, which meant extra leg room. All I needed to do all day yesterday was get to the airport, wait around until it was time to leave, sit in a chair on a plane, then get my luggage and go home.

And that’s what happened. We were a little late taking off, but arrived functionally on-time. The luggage took a while to get to the baggage claim area.

Those are the only bad things that happened. Overall, it was a wonderful trip.

And yet, my mind actively looked for things to be irritated about. Is it possible, just once, to leave on time? I bet that very, very large person will sit next to me, no small person in my own right. (They didn’t.) How can it possibly take so long to put luggage on a cart and load it on a conveyor? (Sometimes it does; get over yourself.)

It’s a silly mindset, but one I’ve nurtured over decades. Things will probably be as bad as you think, unless they’re worse. We’re powerless against the forces of whatever to change things. And at the end, I’ll have been right about all of it.

And yet, the most fundamental change is the simplest–the change in mindset. It’s simple, but it’s not always easy.

Today’s the first day back after a week out of the office. Same thing–dread about what might be. I’d be better served saving my energy for anything difficult that actually comes up and increasing my energy by actively cultivating joy.

Actively pursuing a mindset that anticipates joy isn’t selfish or silly. It’s vital.

You can’t pass on to others what you don’t have.

Published by

Chris Hamilton

Chris Hamilton is a writer trying to make the next step, to go from pretty good to freaking outstanding. He's devoting himself to doing the work and immersing himself in writery pursuit. He also hasn't quite mastered this whole Powerball thing, and still has a pesky addiction to food, clothing, and shelter, so he has to work, too. Blech.

Leave a comment