What’s your excuse? (continued)

For various reasons, I can’t work out right now. I’d like to think it’s because if I get any better looking half the population of Tampa Bay will crash their cars at how awesome I look, but that’s not it. (I know, hard to believe, but…)

So a friend of mine IMed me the other day and said, “How’s that ‘What’s your excuse?’ thing working for you?”

It took me a couple minutes to come up with an answer. After all, I’m not working out and the whole point of ‘What’s your excuse?’ is that there’s no valid reason not to work out. It’s either laziness or lack of guts (leading to too many guts), right?

Actually, your friend has a point, Mr. Fitness. You aren’t working out. What’s your excuse?

What’s your excuse? isn’t just about working out. It’s a template to apply to whatever part of your life you might want to improve.

For health reasons, I can’t work out right now.  I’m not exactly sure why that is. It’s frustrating as hell for me, but it’s the hand I’ve been dealt for the moment. For me, what’s your excuse? applies to figuring out why and dealing with it. It applies to keeping the other things going while I figure it out. It applies to maintaining my sanity and making sure I meet my commitments to the best of my ability. Those things are happening.

Right now, I’m not getting my ass handed to me by Tony Horton or Shaun T. I’m not running a zillion miles and getting ready for Tough Mudder. But when I can–boy, oh, boy–I’m gonna sweat and wheeze and suck air like no one you’ve ever seen.

Oh, dude. We’re waiting and when you put those DVDs in, it’s gonna hurt so much…in a good way. We meant in a good way.

Until then, I’m going to do what I need to do to get things dealt with. I’m woriking at being the best I can be under the circumstances, not letting my struggles give me an out.

That’s the point of what’s your excuse? Whatever position you’re in, it’s your life and you only get one. So go for it. Don’t accept the conventional wisdom. Figure out what you want and pursue it with as much vigor as possible.

No excuses.

Published by

Chris Hamilton

Chris Hamilton is a writer trying to make the next step, to go from pretty good to freaking outstanding. He's devoting himself to doing the work and immersing himself in writery pursuit. He also hasn't quite mastered this whole Powerball thing, and still has a pesky addiction to food, clothing, and shelter, so he has to work, too. Blech.

Leave a comment